‘Why Seek Something From a Helpless Person?

License
Copyright All rights reserved by Lemmo2009

Abu Ghiyas was a great religious scholar and pious person who lived a very ascetic life. He believed in al-amr bilma’ruf wa al-nahy ‘an al-munkar (commanding the good and forbidding evil) and did not fear any worldly ruler. He was devoted to praying and seeking Allah’s help in all matters.

A resident of Bukhara, Abu Ghiyas was on his way one day to see his brother when he came across some slaves of the governor of Bukhara, Nasar Bin Ahmad. The slaves were busy making arrangements for a grand feast for the governor. Abu Ghiyas said to himself: “If I don’t take the opportunity to speak the truth today, I will be partly responsible for their excesses.” He raised his face heavenwards, prayed to Allah, and sought His help. He held out his staff and ran after the slaves. Caught unawares, the slaves fled to the palace and told the governor what had happened.

The governor called for Abu Ghiyas, and when he presented himself, asked him: “Do you know that the person who rebels against the Caliph eats his breakfast in prison?”

Abu Ghiyas replied: “Do you know that the person who rebels against Allah (Subhanahu Wa Taala) eats his breakfast in Hell?”

The governor asked who had made him the muhtasib (ombudsman).

He replied: “The One who has made you the governor.”

The governor said that he was made the governor by the Caliph. Abu Ghiyas said that he was appointed muhtasib by the Lord of the Caliph.

The governor said, “I hereby appoint you the muhtasib of Samarqand.”

Abu Ghiyas said, “I hereby relieve myself of the job.”

The governor said: “You are quite a character! Earlier you were not made the muhtasib, but you became the muhtasib on your own. Now when you are officially being made muhtasib, you are not prepared to take charge.”

He replied: “If you make me muhtasib, you may also terminate my services. But when Allah Almighty makes me muhtasib, nobody can remove me from the job.”

Rendered speechless, the governor changed the topic and said: “If you have any desire, tell me.”

Abu Ghiyas said, “Return my youth.

The governor expressed his inability to do so and asked what else he could do for him.

Abu Ghiyas said: “You should write to the chief of Hell so that I should not be taken into Hell.”

The governor laughed and said it was not in his power to do so.

Abu Ghiyas said: “Then you should write to Ridhwan (the angel in charge of Paradise) for him to allow me to enter Paradise.”

Ashamed, the governor again expressed his inability to do so.

Abu Ghiyas said: “Then why should I seek anything from a helpless person like you? Why should I not turn to Him for fulfillment of all my desires, Who has never returned me empty-handed?”

The governor said: “You may go now.”

Note: This story is taken from a Book called Golden Stories of Accepted Prayers By Abdul Malik Mujahid.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started