A Special Prayer of Allah’s Messenger (Peace and Blessings of Allah be upon him)

Al-masjid Al-nabawi - HD Wallpaper

Abu Hurairah (radi Allahu ‘anhu)reported that once Allah’s Prophet (Peace and Blessings of Allah be upon him) said: “There is a supplication for every prophet (that is definitely answered at all times). I have reserved my supplication for the intercession of my Ummah on the Day of Resurrection.” (Narrated by al-Bukhaari, 4712)

Anas bin Maalik (radi Allahu ‘anhu) reported Allah’s Prophet  (salla Llahu ‘alayhi wa sallam) as having said: “For every prophet there is a prayer that will surely be answered. Every prophet appealed to Allah with that prayer in his time and it was accepted. I will utter that prayer on the Day of Resurrection for the shafa’ah (intercession) of my Ummah.” (Narrated by al-Bukhaari, 7510)


There is a long hadith of Sahih Muslim in which it is stated that on the Day of Resurrection, when people find themselves in serious trouble, they will go to different prophets with requests to intercede for them with Allah Almighty. The prophets will all express their inability to do so. Finally, people will go to Allah’s Messenger (Peace and Blessings of Allah be upon him) and appeal for him to intercede with Allah on their behalf. What happens next is given below in the words of Allah’s Messenger (Peace and Blessings of Allah be upon him):

“When they come to me for intercession on their behalf, I will say in the affirmative that I am prepared to intercede for them with Allah (subḥānahu wa-taʿālā). I will seek permission from Allah (subḥānahu wa-taʿālā) and it would be granted. I will offer praises to Him standing in His presence in words I cannot describe now. Those words would be inspired by Allah Almighty on that occasion.

“Then I will fall down in prostration. It would be said to me: ‘O Muhammad! Raise your head, speak and you shall be heard; seek what you want and it will be granted; intercede and your intercession will be accepted.’ I will raise my head and say: ‘O my Lord! My Ummah, my Ummah!’ It would be said to me to bring out from the Fire those whose hearts contain faith equal to a grain of wheat or barley seed. I shall fetch out of the Fire all such people.

“I shall return, offer praises to Allah in the same words and fall down in prostration. It would be again said to me: ‘Raise your head, speak and you shall be heard; seek and it will be granted to you; intercede and your intercession will be accepted.’ I will again request: ‘O Allah! My Ummah, my Ummah!’ It would be said to me: Go bring out from the Fire those whose hearts contain faith equal to a mustard seed. I would again go fetch all such people out of the Fire.

“I will return to the Tribunal of the Lord for the third time, offer praises in the same words and fall down in prostration. It will be said to me once again: ‘O Muhammad! Raise your head; speak and you shall be heard; seek and you will be granted; intercede and your intercession will be accepted.’ I would request again: ‘O my Lord! My Ummah, my Ummah!’ It would be said to me: Go bring out from the Fire all those people in whose heart is the least possible amount of faith. I will go fetch all such people from Hell.”

For more detail: https://islamqa.info/en/answers/21672/intercession-in-the-hereafter

Note: This story is taken from a Book called Golden Stories of Accepted Prayers By Abdul Malik Mujahid.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started